Sharing the 5 Stages: Changing Attitudes About Disability


The 5 Stages is a continuum of disability attitudes created by Dan Vander Plaats of Elim Christian Services. In this video, Dan briefly describes the continuum and how one can present this continuum. Church disability advocates and other church leaders seeking to be intentional about moving their congregation forward in their welcome and engagement of people with disabilities can use this video to learn how to present the 5 Stages in their own congregations and in other contexts too. A brochure about the 5 Stages and handouts on presenting the 5 stages are included below. This presentation was part of the Christian Reformed and Reformed Church in America Disability Concerns Leadership Conference held August 8 and 9, 2014. 

Sharing the 5 Stages: Changing Attitudes About Disability

Posted in:

The Network hosts user-submitted content.
Posts don't necessarily imply CRCNA endorsement, but must comply with our community guidelines.

Let's Discuss…

We love your comments! Thanks for your help upholding the Community Guidelines to make this an encouraging and respectful community for everyone.
Community Builder

Interesting.  I'll watch the video later, but I wanted to say that I got my latest issue of Scientific American Mind in the mail today and there is an article about schizophrenia in it.  "Schizophrenia's Genetic Roots" in November/December 2014. p. 13.


Thanks Michele. I found the article online too: Schizophrenia's Genetic Roots